09.12.2004 - 9:24 pm

I'm so glad there are records like Envy - A Dead Sinking Story, that remind me why and what I love about heavy music. I know people that think the record is boring, but it's so driving and intense and it hits me on an emotional level that not many records or bands do (Majority Rule comes to mind).

I like being inspired by a band to go out and create music myself. Being a part of a band has always been the thing that makes life feel o.k. Lately, despite being a fucking doctoral student, I feel so one-dimensional, less than the kind of person I was when I had a band. Sometimes the music was secondary to making friends like Ricky and Tony and Dillon and being a part of something. I would look forward to those two days a week of practice enough to get me through a shitty $5.50 an hour job and the bullshit at school. Not that Adore Miridia was/is the most amazing band out there, but I think I really need that again. It felt so good to write a song that we knew was brutal and intense and fucking loud.

Listening: Envy

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland