09.22.2003 - 12:45 am

Damn.

I wanted to go to this show, originally, but finding out Isis was playing is what got me to go online and buy the ticket.

And now I'm really really glad I went, but not because of Isis. They were good, they rocked out (mostly stuff off of Oceanic).

But Mogwai was worth the money alone. They rocked harder than the sum of all Metallica shows for the past five years. They rocked harder than Isis. Their live show blew away their CD's. They played for an hour and a half! My feet are killing me! I'm an old woman!

Let me try and break it down a little better...They were tight. Incredibly. I didn't hear a fuck-up during the whole set. Not that I would notice any and all, but I have a pretty good ear for that, playing music for so long. And I hate to use the word spiritual, because then I could be talking about Yanni, but if you're into this kind of band, and you don't feel wonderful while listening to it, you are a cold, cold, person (run-on sentence). This is the kind of live show you want playing as you're dying. And I mean that in the best possible way. Or...when you're making sweet, sweet love. I can't help it, the show was that good!

The crowd wasn't as scene as I was expecting. There were a good mix of people. And then there were some dumb people I wanted to hit, but that's also normal. The best part was this really attractive guy next to me talking to a girl friend of his about the kind of girl he wishes he could find in the scene: smart (and he mentioned how rare this is), open-minded about music tastes, etc. I wish I wasn't so shy.

(I'm so shy that I can't even approach people online. I wish this person wasn't so far away for many reasons.)

Listening: Envy

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland