09.07.2003 - 5:32 pm

Long time no write.

I spent the last two days down in lovely Fallbrook, pet-sitting for my aunt who went to The River. They have three very lovely dogs who are very unlike my dogs in that they are well-behaved and don't bark. Mostly I watched premium cable because we don't pay for that kind of extravagence around these parts, walked the dogs in the lovely yard, and ate food. I didn't get in the pool, but it entertained me by looking pretty. Nightime was scary, even with three dogs taking over the bed. I don't think I've ever been alone at night so far away from anybody I know. I only slept a few hours the first night because every noise threw my mind into an imaginative whirl. Last night I stopped that by leaving CNN on all night. The fact that they re-run their segments over and over in the middle of the night was very calming and sleep inducing.

But I got home today, after a thoroughly unremarkable drive home (I love Sunday drives). I promptly read two pages of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and fell asleep for three hours. I woke up, finished the book, packed some more stuff, ate dinner, and sat down at the computer.

It is only today that I have begun to get excited about moving to L.A. For once, probably the first time ever, my emotions are lagging like a kid on the way to the dentist. Inertia is a very powerful thing, and living at home is full of securities a 21-but-almost-22-year-old will find nowhere else. Luckily, I'm excited now. Moving in on Wednesday, but taking most of everything on Friday, when Tom and dad are free.

I guess I finally got excited because I thought of all the people I might meet while living in L.A. that I could never possibly meet while living in Banning. And I'm going to be back in school, doing what I do best. And, if things get too boring, I can always work at Whole Foods, or Wild Oats, or Trader Joe's. And I'll be able to start a band.

I'm o.k.

Listening: Grandaddy

P.S. Don't know if I wrote about it: but I'm moving in with Ronald, the condo kicks ass, and it's safe. His parents are very nice, and invited us to stay for dinner.

P.P.S. L.A. traffic sucks. That might be an understatement.

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland