07.30.2003 - 10:47 pm

So no Colorado trip. I hate it when people change their minds, especially when other people are counting on them. It's just a deep-rooted value of mine. Since she got three people's opinions that back up her reasons, that should make me understand and agree with her right away. Oh yeah, and then I get to be on the defensive (which I hate) because I'm upset and can't resume a normal conversation five seconds after she tells me all this. She mistakenly took my silence offensively - we were on AIM for godsakes, anybody knows you should never have an emotional/personal conversation on AIM - there is no such thing as good communication on AIM! She obviously didn't understand how important this trip is/was to me.

At the end of the conversation I tried to explain why I don't like to talk about things when I'm upset (I'll end up saying things I regret out of anger or emotion), since she insisted on asking why I didn't empathize with her reasons. She said she was bothered because rarely are her friends upset at her. I'm thinking to myself: Girl don't you have a little empathy yourself? Don't you know when to leave a situation alone? Are you surprised that I'm upset?

That's what upset me the most. I respect her reasons and opinions for deciding not to go. And I tried to explain to her that I was upset because she backed out, and that I didn't really want to talk about it right then. But that's not good enough! I had to empathize, now, and when I didn't, I got a cool goodbye. Why would she treat a friend that way? I don't understand.

Now, not only am I upset about the fact that in all likeliehood there is no road trip, which was one thing, but now I have to deal with the face that my friend is mad at me, and I'm not sure exactly what I did wrong. How the hell do I get in these situations? It used to happen with Daniel all the time, and I told myself I shouldn't get involved with people that would put me in these positions...

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland