07.22.2003 - 11:34 am

I realized that my mood is inversely proportional to how hard I remember to look for a job. Last two days = great fun. Week before that = HELL. So really, I should just forget about all this job stuff.

I can't really remember what I did during the day on Sunday. But rest assured it did not involve anything extremely interesting. Then Tom and Rob asked me if I wanted to go swimming in the city pool. At first I didn't want to, because I really didn't want to get wet (what the hell?) but then I thought it would be nice to get out of the house, and I thought I could take some pretty pictures at the pool when it was empty at sunset, so I went. But while I changed into my bathing suit and ran out, I forgot my camera. But we swam and had the whole pool to ourselves. It was still really hot outside, so swimming was an excellent idea. We had fun on the diving boards too. We stayed until after dark. The best part was just having fun, and it's hard to explain but my brain wasn't working overtime thinking, thinking, thinking. We were just having fun and it felt very peaceful. Then we went out to Denny's, and I had to pay this time. Not fun.

That night I had a dream I was walking with Matt C., and he was telling me about his new movie. Then I was at my Grandma's, because I was living there while going to UCLA, and my aunt Joan and uncles Ed and James were there re-tiling my Grandma's kitchen counters. But they were royally fucking the job up and ended up duct taping the tiles to the counter. Everyone was fighting about it, so I went outside, and (having washed my car in real life that day) started washing somebody's Montero Sport. It was covered in potato peels, so it was a really tough job.

I swear these are my dreams and I am not making this up. My dreams rule, it's why I love going to sleep.

Yesterday I went to Daniel's to hang out and we listened to a grip of records, then we drove to the Che. I had never been there but the place was pretty cool. One of the touring bands set up next to Daniel's distro, and we started talking to them. They mentioned they were from New Orleans, and one of the guys looked kind of familiar, so I asked them if they had ever heard of the band Eat a Bag of Dicks. They laughed and it turned out they were in the band. Adore Miridia/Tyranny of Shaw played in Tallahassee with them at the Pg.99/Majority Rule show. Ahh so we laughed about that for a bit. It was just really ironic that last night was the Majority Rule show. The singer is the guy who is setting up a show for Adore/Tyranny this summer. Fun stuff. Their band was really tight, much better than I expected. I guess because Eat a Bag of Dicks was more of a joke, I wasn't expecting to be blown away. But this band definitely has it together. Majority Rule just fucking rocked. I'm not very good at objective reviewing - things are limited to bad, good, and awesome - so I won't try, but I wouldn't have wanted to be doing anything else last night.

I got home at 2:30 and fell into bed, sore from rocking out to my Majority Rule CD earlier in the day (gotta practice my moves). I was getting ready for bed, and I heard squealing tires. I look out the window, and a cop is chasing a car up my street. They ended up across the street at the park somewhere. Then I went to bed. Last night, I dreamed that I was in a car outside of a bar for a very long time at night. I was being kidnapped or something bad (it's a little fuzzy). I finally get out of the car, because Snoop Dogg came and rescued me, but I was definitely still afraid of him too. I tried to go into the bar, but they were closing up and everyone was leaving. I saw a bunch of people from UM, and I ended up riding with one of them. We got into a pretty serious situation though. Two people were trying to kill me and the person I was riding with, who was a young boy?? We've already gotten rid of the first attacker, so I gave the boy a pencil stub, and told him to stab the second guy in the head, which he did, about 20 times. You could see all the holes in his head. Then I told the kid to punch him, over and over. The guy just wouldn't leave us alone. So finally I grabbed a cleaver knife from the attackers' car, and in one fell swoop I chopped off his legs. All of this is taking place in a crowded street, but no cops have arrived, and I don't want to go to jail for murder. At this point I run away, to the right, down a strip of undeveloped land. I'm naked and feeling very guilty and vulnerable, I'm looking for a place to hide. Straight ahead of me is a shelter, so I go there, but by the time I get there it's the next day, I have clothes, and I'm moving in with a girl friend of mine who is also a survivor and we've bought the house. It has blue trim, and it's a fixer-upper.

Listening: Dear Diary I Seem to be Dead

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland