05.21.2003 - 2:41 pm

I hate moving, but I love road trips! Maybe the drive home won't be 100% bad. Hopefully my careful packing will keep anything from breaking, hopefully we can resurrect my dead car for the ten minutes we'll need to get it on the car dolly, and hopefully I can leave my goddamn apartment complex behind with a clear conscience and a clear renting record. So what's next? I decided being lazy is much more fun, and instead of trying to find the money to go to grad school at UCLA (as fun as it sounds) I'm going to try and find a first rate job. Living at home: no rent, no electric or phone bill, no lease, free laundry, and plenty of free food. I love my parents, and my mom especially because she wants me to live at home. And imagine, with the money I will be making, I could pay off my loans, save up, and get a new car. I need to relax a little more, at 21 I stress myself out way to much over money. Money is good, money keeps me warm and well-fed, but money shouldn't control my life.

I'm not really sad to leave Miami at this point. Chalk it up to the rising temperatures and humidity, a drug-dealing roomate (shhh!), a low-paying job, and the all around asshole temperament that pervades everyone here. Now that I read that sentence, I wish I could leave a few days sooner. I can only hope we get to California in one piece. Then I know I'll be o.k., and I can start to build my life again.

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland