11.13.2004 - 1:45 pm

I have to do a presentation on my research next week at the group meeting. That's going to be interesting. Since research is usually a term used in the present tense and all.

Last night was the Isis/These Arms Are Snakes/Oxbow (Oxbox?) show. I feel bad for Oxbow, the marquee said Oxbox. Oxbow is a good band...if you take away the "singer". I like their recorded stuff, but this guy is so into sexual theatrics and getting naked that it really takes away from the music. (I feel the same way about Jarboe - the two of them were dry humping at the San Francisco show in July). I thought he was going to take out his dick and slap me in the forehead, and although it didn't happen, I would not have been surprised.

These Arms Are Snakes were pretty good. Not being a huge fan of the new album might explain the "pretty good". If I wanted to hear The Blood Brothers, I would just listen to The Blood Brothers. But they still played my jams so they're alright in my book. Maybe the new record will grow on me, but I have to admit I put it aside after listening to it a few times.

Isis owned as usual. It was much different hearing the new record inside (compared to the MOCA show outside). None of the intensity was lost, and they kept the lighting interesting. I don't normally pay attention to lights but it worked last night. The bass player from Tool was there to jam out on the song he played on the album...honestly, can't say it made a huge difference. I know what he was doing, I could see what he was bringing to the song, but it wasn't mindblowing. Everything else was great, but I'm not very creative when it comes to describing the good. "It was really good" is the de facto response.

It was really good!

Listening: Drive Like Jehu

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland