10.16.2004 - 2:31 am

It's past 2 a.m. and I can't fall asleep. I'm not even tired, which is really strange for me. Really strange. I've been an 11 p.m. sleeper for a while now. I haven't stayed up this late since second/third year of college. I feel restless. My knees really hurt. That's strange too, hasn't happened for a few years. I used to think it was growing pains, but I don't think I'm growing anymore.

I watched Supersize Me tonight. It was fantastic. I've already read Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser so I wasn't all that surprised, except by how much his health suffered. I recommend the film to anybody who has never really thought about fast food and its effects. As far as the extras go, if you watch anything, watch the interview with Eric Schlosser. It's about thirty minutes long and he presents some of the stuff behind fast food corporations that are highlighted in his book.

Last night an old friend from Miami flew in and a bunch of us went out to a deli in Santa Monica and then to a bar down by the Wild Oats. I don't even remember the name, but it had a lot of character and we found a dark booth in the back that was perfect for spirited conversation.

I've been having these obtuse dreams that I know relate to reality but I forget them soon after waking.

I love 2 a.m. thoughts. It's like going back to that period of intense self-enlightenment just for a moment. What I really need to do is write on the go, that's when all the good stuff really happens anyway. I think maybe I'm tired now.

Listening: Growing - The Soul of the Rainbow and the Harmony of Light

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland