10.08.2004 - 10:37 am

I finally watched Fahrenheit 9/11, and I have to admit I cried a few times. I'm a liberal pussy, SO WHAT! I was already well aware of 90% of the information contained in the movie, but I like the way Michael Moore sets up the story from beginning to end, juxtaposing a clip of a smirking Mr. President with the anguish of a normal American mother. And when he tries to sign up members of congress' children for the armed services is for me the best moment of the movie, it's like taking the lid off a well-kept secret of the idealogical workings of the people we elect to represent us. A lot of points were made that I hope regular Americans can connect with. I know plenty of poor kids who had no other options except the military. Rich people don't fight our wars. Rich people get rich off our wars. I also know plenty of people fresh out of college who now make more than both of my parents combined due to contracts in the defense industry.

Ah, yes, I first accidentally rented Fahrenhype 9/11, it was misplaced behind the Fahrenheit 9/11 boxes. I got about five (or was it seven) minutes into it, and realized when I saw Ann Coulter I was definitely not watching the right movie. It begins by showing most of the footage from the Booker elementary school and has testimony from the teacher who was reading with President Bush, "I didn't vote for him, but in that moment, I would have, because I saw the courage of a president, blah blah blah". And then my favorite gal, Ann Coulter, comes on and is ranting about how Michael Moore got it wrong - Bush did not wait seven minutes to respond after getting the news, he only waited five, and if you can't get the details about that right, how can we believe your movie??

Oh yeah, I mean, seriously, two minutes. What the fuck Michael Moore?? Wait a minute, what was that about mistaken intelligence that led us to WAR?? I'd rather have my entire government and intelligence gathering agencies get that right when it means sending troops into harms way than Michael Moore GETTING TWO FUCKING MINUTES WRONG. I'LL GIVE HIM TWO MINUTES IF YOU DON'T START A WAR BASED ON FALSE PREMISES.

Oh just get me in a room with that bitch.

Watch the second debate tonight! New job numbers are out, I hope Kerry continues the strong line he started last week, because really, this isn't about what Kerry might or might not do, it is more importantly about what Bush has done to this country in four years. I honestly believe Kerry could have a disappointing presidency and do better than this administration in every aspect.

Listening: Mice Parade

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland