09.16.2004 - 9:05 pm

I feel like shit...but then again, I ate like shit today. Not to mention the hell that sleeping has become lately. Almost immediately after lying down last night, my neck became very stiff and achey. The apartment was hot and I turned up the A/C but it wouldn't start. I tossed and turned, I switched pillows...finally fell asleep about an hour after I went to bed. My sleep wasn't very refreshing, but on the other hand, I didn't remember my dreams.

This week has been flying by. Tomorrow is already Friday, it feels like it will be Wednesday. The summer program is going well, I am teaching four very intelligent undergrads the basics of thermodynamics before the fall quarter starts. So far, everything has gone smoothly and ahead of schedule. It's very fulfilling to know I'm teaching people something they didn't know about before, and they really comprehend it. The power of human communication!

My brother turns 21 tomorrow. I think he's going to some bar with my mom!? I don't know, I love my family, but I don't think (had I been around on my 21st birthday) I would go out with my mom. I would feel really awkward being drunk around my mom. I should say openly drunk. I think I came home quite a few nights in high school more than a little buzzed, but managed to look normal.

But the point is, it doesn't feel like two years since my 21st birthday bash. It feels more like a year ago. Time is moving twice as fast as I perceive it to be moving! That's way too fast. That means I've been writing here for two years already. It's time for the 21st birthday recap: went out with a bunch of people to Chili's first, they had some kind of 2 for 1 drink special. I got everyone's second free drink. Girlie drinks. Left there with Xavi and his girlfriend, around 10 p.m., quite tipsy. Went over to Fox's, the coolest dive bar in Miami, had a few more drinks, saw a bunch of other people from UM, drunkenly made up with Jackie from the radio station...but it's all so hazy. Got home and managed to fall right asleep without throwing up. Which was a lucky thing; my stomach has gotten weaker and weaker the older I get. This was a Tuesday, woke up the next day so hungover I missed my first class and went through the motions for the rest of the day.

I can't imagine doing all of that in front of my mom.

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland