10.31.2003 - 8:50 pm

The days are flying by so fast that a week feels like two or three days.

So it's 9 p.m. on a Friday (Halloween) night and I'm ready to go to bed. My eyes and brain just want to shut off. I'm pissed off because I really wanted to go home this weekend to pass out candy and celebrate my birthday and spend time with my family, but I decided I really should go to my Friday group meeting. I showed up and as I walk out of the elevator I run into Amit and Chen and they tell me our meeting was just cancelled by our professor. Damn it! It's just lame because I already finished my work for Monday, and I could have taken my books home and studied for my midterm.

But I'm not that pissed off about everything else. Everything else is going better than I could hope for. I'm planning my trip to Florida, classes are going better, things with Ronald have been great, I'll get my grocery shopping done early tomorrow morning, and it's raining. Usually rain depresses me. But when it's raining at night and I don't have to go out, it's very peaceful. I'm warm inside and the sound of rain as I'm going to sleep is one of the best things in the world.

I've also been recruited to be a manager at the radio station because of my previous experience. I'm the music sub-director of indie rock. I'm happy because that's a huge chunk of what comes into a college radio station. I've been reviewing CD's all week. I did the new Quasi, Enon, Sonna, Pele, Hella, Mates of State, Dressy Bessy, and I got the new Explosions in the Sky today. There are perks to working at a radio station, even if it's only broadcast over the internet at the time being. I should have a regular show by next week, which will brighten my mood even more. Doing a radio show has a way of tuning everything else in my life out, making it a time I always look forward to no matter what else is going on.

Listening: Explosions in the Sky

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland