10.12.2003 - 2:30 pm

Long awaited weekend update.

Let's start with the present: I'm doing anything I can not to do homework and reading despite how important it may be. It used to be easy to put off Sunday work, but these 8 a.m. Monday classes are really putting an end to that. I got back here from home in exactly 1 1/2 hours. Pretty good. I didn't hit any traffic. And of course, as I had been gone for almost three days, Ronald let the shit pile up. So I walked in, unpacked my oh-so-carefully packed stuff (even the dirty clothes) and started to clean up. I took out the trash, put all the dishes in the dishwasher and started it, cleaned off the counters and started my laundry. I figure your home should be the cleanest on Sunday for two reasons:

1. You had all weekend to clean, and to make sure things are neat and in order.

2. Your home will inevitably get dirty as the week progresses, why start with something dirty? It doesn't make much sense to me.

I left late late on Thursday night, so technically it was already Friday. The drive home was nice, and I got home to a happy Little Dog and a filled air mattress. Much better than the couch. I fell asleep right away and had peaceful sleep. Friday morning I woke up too early I think. I'm not sure why. I started cleaning like a madman because it felt nice to do something physical. My mom was really happy about that and gave me $40. Holla.

On Friday afternoon I went with my mom to the hospital; she had appointments, I had prescriptions to fill. I know that I get frustrated too easily, which leads to flustering, irrational behavior, and cursing. And looking over this paragraph - a lot of spelling errors, which I've already fixed. The pharmacy where I normally pick up my prescription was suddenly closed, I could tell because the doors to the specific wing were closed, and a hand-written sign informed me that the clinic and pharmacy were closed today and tomorrow. Arrrgh. So I got extra frustrated, which led to fluster and possible hot flash. I stormed over to the building where my mom was, and only then did I begin to think rationally, coming to the conclusion that the main pharmacy just might be able to fill my prescription. They were, and I was once again made happy.

Friday night we all went out to dinner at Frijoles and that was fun. We're a funny family. Mostly we talked about the impending strike, so not all fun. Tom then informed me he was going to see Kill Bill, so I was all up in that shit. Fucking amazing movie. I wasn't a huge fan of Tarantino before. I appreciated his movies, of course, but this one is better than all the others combined. Such amazing shots, great cast, and the screenplay is fuckable if you know what I mean. And the ending. God. I want Volume 2 NOW!

[So far, this entry has taken an hour.]

Saturday I had to wake up early and go to the salon. I got my hair cut and colored. Damn, when you get cut/color/partial weave a.k.a. highlights it's pretty damn expensive. But it's good; it's red, purple, and golden blonde. It looks better than it sounds. Saturday night I went to the races with Tom as usual and missed an important phone call.

I woke up this morning, washed my car, washed myself, joined my dad for a stroll on the roof to see his work, and headed back. I really didn't want to come back. Home is peaceful, and if school were closer, I would live there. I guess I just missed that whole early twenties phase. I would rather be close to my family than friends, and I would rather start a family than date casually.

This update is approaching two hours. I've had conversations and phone calls in between writing.

Listening: The Decemberists

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland