10.07.2003 - 7:41 pm

Continued:

So after the lovely water incident, I dried it up and got on with my morning. It is not easy to eat cereal while thinking about dreaming of people on fire though. Just making a note of that.

I spent a few hours in the library with my study pal and we got a few problems done. So I felt accomplished enough to head home for lunch. Lunch was pumpkin rice with squash and tofu. Pretty sweet stuff.

Did some more work and suddenly it was time to go to the radio meeting. Where do the hours go, really? Oh yeah they are sucked away online. I was a little productive by catching up on some news though, so I suppose it wasn't a total waste.

The radio meeting was alright. They only broadcast online because they never bought a trasmitter and all the necessary equipment to have a real station. But apparently they have enough money to broadcast online (which is pretty expensive now due to royalty fees). And the fact that they have no money for a transmitter makes me wonder if they have enough money to pay the fees to the companies that license the semi-major independent labels like Polyvinyl, etc. Or whatever it is they have to pay for exactly.

So this is how it works: one quarter interning (lame) so you can learn the board and their format and procedures. Our (my fabulous) training sessions lasted a record three hours and you were off on a whirlwind of middle of the night shows. WhatEV. One quarter of a rotation show. That's alright. I understand this because there are a lot of dimwits that don't understand independent programming. So they learn to like it or they quit. Can't have everyone playing third rate KROQ music. Great weeding out process. Then third quarter you get your own show, and it's pretty much free-for-all. Which is good in a way, but there is really no control over what's going on the air during the day time. You could go from punk to hip-hop to some lame talk show, and they could all be lame in fact since there is no approval process.

Now I'm here, the day is ending. I think it's time for a little more (home) work and dream land for me.

Oh and I have to check the election results. Yikes. Scary.

Listening: Pinback

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland