08.01.2003 - 11:14 pm

Today was pretty high on the awesome/action-filled factor. I woke up early because the Wal-Mart trip had to be postponed until today. After cleaning his room for about four hours straight, my brother was a little tired last night. On the way to Wal-Mart there was a crash on the freeway, and my brother is an E.M.T. so he ran out and helped the people. He said one guy's arm was cut pretty bad, and he asked me "Why didn't you come help?" Shit, yeah, because that doesn't make me queasy, and I really know what to do! I figured the worst thing I could do is get out and gawk up close.

We made it to Wal-Mart safely, and being the first of the month, I think everyone on Social Security was there today. I bought a bunch of canvas and some replacement acrylics. Then we drove to Frijoles and had lunch. Then we were off to Ace Hardware so I could buy lumber for the canvas frames. While we were searching amongst towers of good-smelling wood, I look over and see this kid Andy that I've known since seventh grade. We were never really friends, but I always thought he was so hot. He was there getting wood for his job or something...but it was so weird to see someone I've known since the most awkward time of my life, and the look on his face was somewhere between half-recognition and surprise. I look a lot different than I did even four years ago.

Tom and I built a test frame, 6" x 6", mounted the canvas, and I painted it. And while I was painting, Matt called from Wisconsin. He sounded happy, and it was nice to hear from him. The conversation was...at ease again. He's not going to be back for another two weeks, and the dude that runs Warped Tour decided to let them play the rest of the dates. So it's a big break for them.

Tonight, we all went up to my uncle Dan's house (mansion, palace, whatever). James, his son, is only ten years old. Granted, when they spend their vacations in America, James doesn't really have any friends to play with, but he is the most spoiled kid I have ever met. I haven't known too many overtly rich people though. This kid has a swingset/fort thing that must've cost $5000, a go-kart, foosball, air hockey, bike, basketball setup, etc. And the kid acts spoiled. He screams like a girl whenever he is upset, or when he's trying to make a point.

So this house is amazing. The view is worth it on its own. Rolling hills on three sides, and a great aerial view of Yucaipa and Redlands on the other. My uncle somehow built up a small fortune. The guy just bought a new huge Ford truck, he has a '65 AC Cobra, a '31 Roadster, and one of those mint condition Thunderbird convertables from the 50's. I wonder what it's like to desire something (material), and to fulfill that desire immediately if you choose. That concept is one of the most foreign to me.

Listening: The White Stripes

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland