06.08.2004 - 10:54 am

Well I can't say I didn't try, which does mean something. After I found about this Sonic Youth show that sprung up without me knowing it, I saw that the first 125 people that went to Amoeba Records this morning and bought the new record got free tickets. I decided to give it a try because, well, I would always wonder if I didn't. And damn, Sonic Youth at the Troubadour is well worth a bit of traffic (almost two hours!). But the adventure proved pointless. I showed up at 10 a.m., Amoeba opens at 10:30. I didn't think I would be first in line, but I just didn't plan well enough. The line wrapped around the building, so I just kept driving and never stopped. I chuckled a bit. I did forget to stop by Guitar Center on the way back though. I wanted to look at a bass distortion pedal, and I'm interested in some other things. I got Corey's package and it made me feel loved. Their EP is awesome, it's too bad they're breaking up. Jonathan did a good job of the recording, and the shirt and layout designs are top notch. Corey underestimates himself. Off to school.

But there is a Plan B: see if Theresa can get tickets for the station because so far she's gotten tickets to everything. She knows some people!

Listening: Sonic Youth - Murray Street. I don't own Sonic Nurse yet. Boo.

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland