10.01.2003 - 5:55 pm

I was handing out dirty looks left and right today. First, to this guy in one of my classes that is also a new grad student. He looks older, in his forties maybe. Of the four times we have had scheduled times, he has been over ten minutes late each time (two orientations and two class periods to date). He doesn't slink quietly into the back, NO!, somehow he's Mr. Goody-Two-Shoes as well and thinks he needs to sit in front, disturbing everybody on his trek into a desk. He was the first recipient of the day. And it just goes to show how big this pet peeve is to me when I can say I already dislike the guy. I think being late is a serious character flaw. It's disrespectful, among other things.

Secondly to the crazy driver on Westwood Blvd. She even looked like a nurse. Caretaker my ass. The idiot was waiting in the left turn lane, behind a slightly more cautious driver. She decided she didn't want to wait, proceeds to honk loudly and prolongingly - this initially makes me glare in her direction. Then, she has the balls to just go to the left of the person in front of her to make her left turn, practically into oncoming traffic. She was really in a hurry and really out to kill someone. Then, in addition to all of this, after I walk down a block to my bus stop, she is on her return journey down Westwood Blvd., gets stuck behind someone waiting to turn left at another intersection that has no specific left turn lane, decides she is again sick of that, and jumps into the lane on her right, practically sideswiping a car that had the right away. The car she almost pummeled honks, but she just honked back and sped off, looking like she felt very justified. Loser number two for the day. She should crash soon, so I don't have to worry about her hitting pedestrians and other innocent drivers.

And finally, to the girl on the bus deciding which lame ass Nokia ringtone she'd like for the day. Hearing all that shit in a public place is annoying the first time around, but it's hard to describe what you feel the second time around. In addition, the fact that she looked like she was from Miami Beach, thinking she's hot, thinking her ringtones are wonderful really bugged the shit out of me. But the part that made her stupid in addition to lame was that as she scrolled through her ringtones, she would proceed to put the phone to ear so she could "hear" it. I could hear that shit all the way across the bus.

Oh, and what the hell is it about me that causes people to ask me for directions?? I get it all the damn time, even if I'm a tourist, and even if I look like a tourist. I don't get cool guys or cool girls approaching me, but I sure as hell get direction-seekers. And it never fails to happen on a crowded sidewalk, when they could pick anybody. Is it because I'm petite? Do I have an innocent face? Does word travel that I'm a good direction-giver, the go-to person for these things?

Back to reading - it's coming back to me now.

previous - next

reading now

stuck in the past

say hello

leave a note

diaryland